Interactive Bar

Home Page

Cross-Curricular Skills Framework

Cross-Curricular Skills Frameworks

Literacy, Numeracy and Digital Competence

are mandatory skills which will be developed across all areas of learning and experience.


➡️ Learn more about the Cross-Curricular Skills Frameworks here. ⬅️





The Literacy and Numeracy Framework



The Literacy and Numeracy Framework embeds literacy and numeracy into all curriculum learning areas and provides opportunities for pupils to develop literacy and numeracy skills in practical ways.



Literacy and Numeracy, are divided into the following strands:  



• Listening

• Reading

• Speaking

• Writing


➡️ Literacy Framework ⬅️




• Developing mathematical proficiency

• Understanding the number system helps us to represent and compare relationships between numbers and quantities

• Learning about geometry helps us understand shape, space and position, and learning about measurement helps us quantify in the real world

• Learning that statistics represent data and that probability models chance helps us make informed inferences and decisions



➡️ Numeracy Framework ⬅️



The Digital Competence Framework 


The Digital Competence Framework encapsulates the skills that will help learners thrive in an increasingly digital world. This framework develops children's digital competence, across all areas of the curriculum.


The Framework has 4 strands of equal importance, each with a number of elements.


  • Citizenship – which includes:
    • Identity, image and reputation
    • Health and well-being
    • Digital rights, licensing and ownership
    • Online behaviour and online bullying.


  • Interacting and collaborating – which includes:
    • Communication
    • Collaboration
    • Storing and sharing


  • Producing – which includes:
    • Sourcing, searching and planning digital content
    • Creating digital content
    • Evaluating and improving digital content


  • Data and computational thinking – which includes:
    • Problem solving and modelling
    • Data and information literacy



➡️ Digital Competence Framework ⬅️